mayoraasei: (Ugh)
Helping kids cope if Harry dies.........HAHAHAHAHAHAHA OMG that's hilarious.

This could be devastating for some impressionable children who have grown up with the bespectacled boy wizard for the past 10 years.

GOD, what is with all this paranoia. Kids aren't stupid (well, some of them are - it must be hereditary). I read Romance of the Three Kingdoms when I was 5, and about half the people are dead by the end, the most sympathetic kingdom was destroyed and swallowed up by the most ruthless one. Even if The Three Kingdoms was classical Chinese literature, it still did deaths better than Harry Potter. And okay, it made me cry when my favourite people died, but traumatised? PFFFT.

And if they've "grown up" with Harry Potter "for the past 10 years", they're obviously NOT THAT YOUNG. GOD.

"I wouldn't want my kids to read it, and after all these years they die. They become so involved it becomes a little hard to take. I wouldn't want my 12-year-old to feel cheated, almost. I know they have to learn about a certain part of life but today's children grow up too fast."

DUDE, I so don't get this ridiculous American ideal of "protecting" their kids by not letting them even hear a breath of "bad things". Death is part of life; without death, life wouldn't be worth treasuring. Because there is an end, it makes the journey to that end all the more worthwhile.

Bridge to Terabithia was our reading book for year 6, when we were 11 or 12, and it was one of the best done deaths in children's literature. It was accidental, meaningless, abrupt, in-character, tragic, and its repercussions so elegantly played out. In year 6, I also read detailed narrative of the Knights of the Round Table, and don't tell me it wasn't sad when Arthur/Lancelot/Guinevere died/went on the ship/whatever.

If young children are impressionable and follow examples, then it might even be better to let them acquaint with death through fiction, to watch how fictional characters deal with death, to understand the different ways a death can impact on other people, to know the different ways in which different people react to a death, and to understand for themselves how to deal with it should a similar situation come up. These are things no lengthy talks by parents can explain, and can only really be learned through contact, even if it's through proxy.

"Some children are going to be asking questions - What is life? What is death? And ... what magic happened and is he going to be rescued?"

WHAT THE HELL is so wrong with children asking probing questions? What's wrong with children facing difficult issues, facing loss and sadness? The shallowest people are those who have grown up in bliss. It's when people don't understand how terrible death can be that they cease to treasure life. Because they don't know or understand life's other side, they're irresponsible, immature, narrow-minded, and shallow. It's knowing and feeling and understanding what is bad that makes someone realise what they want or don't want to happen, it gives them a marker, helps them decide what they want to protect in life.

By 13, I've read Isobelle Carmody's The Obernewtyn Chronicles, Guy Gavriel Kay's Fionavar Tapestry, and The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton (non-fantasy). Compared to Harry Potter, any one of the deaths in their books is an exercise in masterly writing.

As much as the next person, I hate it when my favourite characters die, but people die in real life, and if the author chooses to reflect that, I don't see what the bloody problem is.

......Checking back on my (defunct) wide-reading list...I first read Pratchett in 2000?!??!?! =0=;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; Had no recollection. Well, it was Soul Music...maybe that's why ==;;

Anyway, I've always thought it was ridiculous how protective adults are of "sensitive issues". Children aren't stupid. Seeing fictional deaths early in life (although I'm sure it wasn't intentional by parents) didn't scar me, it didn't turn me into a homocidal criminal, and I don't feel all the more vulnerable because of this early exposure. I'm kinda glad that my first exposure was through historical fiction, where there were no magic and no fantastical means of resurrecting anyone. Death is final, so treasure the moments before it.

Video game violence, where killing is glorified, is a completely different story ==;
mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
(Translates as - I love my sister)

Having had to fight tooth and nail against obsessive shoujo smut fangirls who insist this is, like, the best manga ever (well, not really, I mostly just give them a wide berth because anyone who likes this thing has to be seriously sick), I love this ANN review:

You know, maybe the title should have tipped me off on this one. But I'm the kind of fool who's dumb enough to give anything a fair shot once, especially when it's accompanied by the wailing of shoujo obsessives who claim that they were utterly moved by the emotional drama and trauma and anything else that ends in -ama. So I'm reading this series, having at least a mild inkling of what the premise entails, and trying to buy into the depth of this guy's conflicted feelings for his twin sister. Except there ISN'T ANY! (Depth, that is.) This story is basically about a guy who wants to bone his little sister. That is IT. Why the hell did I ever think there would be any sort of expansion on this theme? They basically spend each chapter getting dangerously close with each other, often in explicit ways, and this smut is repeated over and over until you just want to read some conservative, pedantic pre-Tezuka shoujo manga about how little Chieko became a good obedient wife and waits every day to serve dinner to her salaryman husband because he gets so tired from perpetuating the Japanese economic miracle. Now, there are some "taboo" series that have been done well—I'm thinking Koi Kaze or Hourou Musuko—but I would not, among any of them, include "BokuImo," which should be killed with God's purifying fire.

This is why I hate the sleuth of shoujo smut parading as stories - anything from Love Monster to Private Prince to Cos-Play to anything by Shinjo Mayu. Don't get me wrong, I don't have anything against sex in manga, per se. A lot of my favourite manga have sex scenes in them - anything by Yuu Watase, Kimi wa Pet, heck, even Andante had a sex scene even though it was published in a magazine for primary school kids.....OTZ

But manga that spends 20 pages out of its 30-paged chapters using sex as a cheap excuse for plot, and using plot as a cheap excuse for sex should never be labelled as "good".

And while BokuImo is pretty bad, it probably isn't the worst out there.

And I'm sorry, I really hate the art.
mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
I agree...

...If only up to the bit where it started to sound like there is some thespian conspiracy to undermine the "lower class" by removing their "rights to good English"....

I have to say I'm on the pedantic side for English ==;; Though my skills have fade in the last 3 years due to overexposure to yummy scientific jargon, our uni's Honi Soit (especially last year's editors) has such atrocious proof-reading that I cannot feel at peace until I've dug out a red marker and circled all their mistakes ==;;;

And yesterday, while reading an international student's poster abstract on HIV, I ended up editing all the grammatical mistakes ==;;;;;; Well...it's not surprising that Asians tend to trip over where to put "the"s and where not, since the definite article1 doesn't even exist in our language ==;

The editing ended in an argument over the word formidable ==; "Research to find an effective vaccine and treatment is both necessary and formidable." I swear that sounds weird. I don't know why, but unless research is qualified as a task or work or something...it just sounds odd to say "formidable research". Like. "Formidable lunch". Huh? Exactly.

And the guy kept insisting that it made sense in Chinese =___=;;;;



1. Did you know, "the" is also an adverb.
mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Babbo)
One SMH blog

Men in this country are still streaks ahead when it comes to deaths from most diseases, especially cancer. Our rates of alcoholism, incarceration and drug addiction are way ahead of females and we still die five years earlier than the average woman. Blokes kill themselves at three times the rate of women, we're more likely to die in a motor vehicle accident and we're still, on average, the major breadwinner over the course of our lives.

Women bear their own horrific death rates from diseases such as breast cancer, suffer much higher incidence of rape and domestic violence and, of course, residual discrimination in the workplace. Still, does it not strike you as somewhat perverse so many people insist men have the better deal in this country?



Okay. Compare the two.

Men: cancer, alcoholism, incarceration, drug addiction, suicide, motor vehicle accident, shorter life span.
Women: cancer, rape, domestic violence, discrimination.

DOES IT NOT BLOODY STRIKE YOU ODD THAT MEN BRING A LOT OF THOSE SO CALLED "PROBLEMS" UPON THEMSELVES?!?!?!

Apart from cancer and lifespan, EVERY FRIGGIN' thing on that list is by choice. WTF are you complaining about alcoholism and suicide and DRIVING TOO BLOODY FAST and GETTING INTO JAIL as "OMG that means our life sucks"?!! If you can't bloody control your actions YOU PAY FOR THEM.

For the women on the other hand, rape and domestic violence and discrimination is not even by choice AND ARE USUALLY PERPETRATED BY MEN.

I'm not here to argue which gender has the better of things, but if you're going to compare the quality of life, find better arguments than "oh, men likes to do things that kill themselves faster...boohoo, their lives suck".

And the thing with cancer and life span is that male behaviour has a lot to answer for again: alcoholism, smoking, stress from violence, drugs, preference for sitting in front of the TV with a beer and watching sport rather than actually doing sport....

And how would you like to have period pain every 4 weeks for 40 years whether or not you want to have a kid? Ugh. Talk about quality of life.
mayoraasei: (Ugh)
With the medicine interview coming up in a bit over 2 weeks, a lot of people are getting themselves enrolled in courses. MedPrep is one such, and claims on its website:

We gauge the measure of our success through the good fortunes of our students. While only 10 to 15% of GAMSAT examinees in the general population are accepted to medical school, approximately 70% of MedPrep students who sit the GAMSAT are admitted. On average, MedPrep can improve your chances by a factor of seven. You may wish to read the preceding sentence again.

The statistical bullshit of that paragraph just makes me gag. It's so bloody biased! Obviously it's not a random selection of GAMSAT examinees who enrol themselves into a course like that!! How can they just claim it increases your chances by a factor of 7 based on a non-random, non-controlled selected cohort?!?! ARGH. And I don't even study statistics!!!

I'm not saying it doesn't help, of course, but the claim is so bloody unscientific and pathetic that anyone who wants to attempt the GAMSAT would have enough stat knowledge to scoff at it.


Edit:
10% of GAMSAT examinees get into medicine. Only 0.01% of the general population get into medicine per year. Taking the GAMSAT increases your chance by 1000 fold!!!

5% of the world population eat tofu regularly. 90% of the Chinese population eat tofu regularly. Eating tofu increases your chance of being Chinese 20 fold!!

0.02% of the Australian population die as a result of cancer. 100% of the American population die as a result of being alive. Being American increases your chance of dying by 5000 fold!

=___=
mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (shigure)
Random gripe:

If you're writing fantasy/alternative world, check your language please. Common expressions like "Gee" or "Geez" or "Christ!" or "OMG" shouldn't go anywhere near your characters, unless they happened to also have had a Jesus Christ son of God ==;

That also goes for expressions rooted in our modern culture, like "gay" or "queer" or "punk" or "cool"...

=_____=||||

Yes, that's right, that includes "he's so cool" and "she's so hot", expressions reserved for something to do with temperature, thank you.

If you're going to have a character that speaks slang, make up your own slangs, or at least check for their origins. If it has anything remotely to do with electricity in a decidedly non electricity world (i.e. "he's all wired up" or "his brain's short-circuiting" or "the experience was electrifying!"), umm...no. Unless you're Terry Pratchett =P
mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
Today I received this email from Paypal:

At PayPal we take protecting your financial information seriously. We recognize and respect your right to privacy when it comes to your personal financial information. Please attend to our request to our active consumers to protect them of online fraud and frequent rising scam attacks against our financial institution.

This letter was sent in concordation with our latest policy that requires each payment over $ 1,000.00 to be confirmed by the owner of PayPal account before concluding the transfer.

Product ID:

Sony Vaio BRAND NEW and boxed Notebook.
Item no. #532749201
Price : $ 1,399.00

Location : payment@securitytransaction.com


WHAT. THE. FUCK.

I have never ordered a notebook, I do NOT have money in Paypal, and heck, I have NEVER signed up with Paypal. Did some random bastard just sign up with my email account?

The email looks authentic, since it was sent from "transactions@paypal.com", and told me to check the transaction at paypal.com/etcetc.

Damn these people. ARGH.
mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
Stuff that should get graffiti-ed on toilet walls, except doesn't:

Flush the toilet.

While your generosity is appreciated, wipe your urine, blood and pubes off the toilet seat.

FLUSH THE TOILET!!


==; Ugh.

There was one arvo in Bosch where every single toilet (5) was left unflushed. When stuff like that happens, it makes me wonder if one person just goes around peeing in every single toilet on purpose ==;

And people who come to my house and leave pee on the toilet seats and unidentified green globules floating around in the toilet bowl should just die.

Profile

mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
mayoraasei

December 2018

M T W T F S S
     12
3456 789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated 26 Mar 2026 10:48 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios