mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
[personal profile] mayoraasei
We keep getting inundated with coloured pamphlets this week. I've lost track of what they're for now. There was one about abortion, a stack about the SRC election, which I'm confusing with the national election...speaking of which, it's times like these that you don't want to put a vote in.

Well anyway, when is the SRC election anyway? ~~; And what's with the Honi Soit "newspaper" thing? What's with their whole "elect us"?? How do you elect a newspaper to be on a council?

Besides, so much for their motto of striving to be an entertaining, extraordinary, satirical newspaper --; They're not even funny. They sound like a bunch of sour journalist-wannabes bitching on about life in general and passing it off as "hey, it's satire, if you don't laugh, obviously you have no sense of humour". Pfft.

If you want to be individual, try something else rather than pick on George W. Bush. The poor guy (like him I do not) has been the butt of the joke in Australian (and worldwide) media almost as soon as the war started.

There's also a way to be funny without flashing your ego in big red letters - though I suppose to you, they're only subliminal messages. Frankly, how do you expect to be "extraordinary" when all you do is reiterate public opinion?

It's not controversial to pick on the president of the world's most powerful nation. Heck, anything regarding the controversy of the war has been thoroughly chewed, digested, turned into chyme and is seriously, coming out of the other end as...well, what comes out of the other end.

So in protest (or rather, I was dead bored in bio and struggling not to fall asleep and start snoring, again) I've been reacquainting myself with origami.... It's not mean! I'm just stopping the paper from going to waste! ^0^v I've finally figured out how to make a crane the proper way.

Also, I think there's something fundamentally wrong with the concept of going to Kinokuniya every day. Hrm ==; I noticed there was a large collection of cosplaying magazines stacked in one corner called "Gothic and Lolita"... It's disturbing. They were showing a promotion video for a FF concert...and I say! The graphics were amazing! <-- Obviously never played FF before ^^; Really need to get myself some game addicted friends...lol.

My fridge is burping. It's stuffing up the circuit of the house. Gah.

Date: 2004-09-08 12:02 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jezjezjezza.livejournal.com
this is the proper way to vote:

don't vote.

but if we have to pay a $50 fine (oops, 'fee') in order to do so, then here's the next best thing:

stuff it up.

I plan to embark on a quest to get peter garrett elected as our uni's new honi soit. *determined* you're either with me or against me.. or confused about whatever the hell I'm going on about.

VOTE 1 PETER GARRETT!

oh! oragami eh? neatness :) make 1000 of them, and then wish for the patience to make 1000 cranes.. and then..

..every day? ._.

Date: 2004-09-08 02:07 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] beliael.livejournal.com
Gah student elections, very annoying. Of course, it's a great time to get back at people who've been pissing you off. When they ask "vote for me!" you just smile and nod politely, while mentally reminding self to put in a vote for everyone else instead. Mmmm revenge best served cold.

Satire is sadly very overrated these days. There is a fine like between satirical mockery and just pompous whinging. They could at least try to be more original.

Date: 2004-09-08 02:18 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sindaalphiel.livejournal.com
Heya Feng! Wanna come to my party? I know as well as me Jenny for one would like you to come. Are you coming Jenny?
Got approached my this short curry chick, since been informed that she's nice, to vote for her ticket in the Student's Association. Was she ever pushy. I mean, I told her I'd vote later because I had a class in under 10 minutes and it'd take me more than that to fill out the numerous forms, and she was like- aww come on, see some people forget to vote, and I've spent time with you yadayada. So I took her how to vote guide, got my name crossed off, stuffered the guide into my bag, and proceeded not to vote for her or anyone else in her group. I voted for the independents who didn't litter the uni with fliers shamelessly promoting themselves, and who didn't pressure me to vote for them.
My rant for the day :) Good to see the NSGs on LJ.
Chen.

Date: 2004-09-09 04:05 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jezjezjezza.livejournal.com
T__T I probably won't come chen, I'm really behind.. I have two assignments and a psyc report for next week to do.. plus I need to learn matlab and c :( I'll catch up though! *determined* and I'll be fine for stuff in the holidays (I hope!)

Date: 2004-09-09 06:03 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] luna-rainbow.livejournal.com
Me too...I'm about 7 weeks behind in Calculus and Stat...typical, lol. I'm having problems dealing with this semester's work load ~~; Can't wait until end of semester! (Well, after the exams, of course)

Profile

mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
mayoraasei

December 2018

M T W T F S S
     12
3456 789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated 25 Mar 2026 05:33 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios