mayoraasei: (OTZ)
[personal profile] mayoraasei
So...remember how I said not long ago that I wanted to watch this so I had something to laugh about?

...Remember how I kept screaming at JIN for the ridiculous "medicine"...Yeah, I should have. I really should stop watching medical dramas, now.

As a drama Doctor X isn't bad, although I'm not a huge fan of Yonekura's wide-eyed mostly expressionless acting, but at least she is at the respectable age to play a freelancing surgeon.

I like me some drama that prods gentle fun not only at the widely-accepted ridiculous Japanese working hours (i.e. 9-5 plus all hours before midnight), but also at the widely-accepted ridiculous surgical working hours (i.e. 7-4 plus all hours before...well, 7am the next day).

I also enjoy a character who is pragmatic and brisk - which is what surgeons are all about, after all - who cares not a flying donkey about the rigid ridiculous ritualistic schedule that define a prestigious hospital's working life, including the hilariously familiar 25-peopled ward rounds led by the well-weathered director and trailed by a troop of forcefully alert faces.

That said, while she's free to fight for her own working rights, there are bits about her "rules" that make for good drama but for terrible medical practice.

Her refusal to participate in daily rounds on the basis that "you don't need a medical degree to go on rounds" is ridiculous. Sure, every surgeon hates rounds, that's why they do surgery, but isn't she even going to check out her patients after surgery?

In fact, the first time she brought up the "you don't need a medical degree" argument (for paperwork) it was a laugh, but the fourth and fifth time it really began to irk me. Her refusal to shake the director's hand citing that exact reason really clinched it for me. You don't need a medical degree to eat lunch, do you? Getting a medical...ahem, even a SURGICAL qualification doesn't excuse you from human decency and basic courtesy.

And other bit that really pissed me off cracked me up was when the patient went into clear shock on the operating table, the anaesthetist sat there swinging her legs for 15 bloody minutes until Daimon got changed and scrubbed and gowned and gloved, and THEN said "GIVE SOME ADRENALINE".

OMFG You're a bloody anaesthetist! Not a scrub nurse!!! YOU'RE the one managing the ABC's. WHY THE FRICK were you waiting for the SURGEON'S instructions???? You're the one the surgeons turn to when shit hits the fan during surgery, especially when that shit is a systolic BP of 60!!!

At this point I don't think it's even worth mentioning that they pushed 10mL of adrenaline through via a peripheral intravenous line. PALM. MEET FACE. (Unless, of course, the anaesthetist had the foresight to make up the 1:100,000 solution, which I can't find any reliable guidelines to say you can/can't give it as a bolus)

Profile

mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
mayoraasei

December 2018

M T W T F S S
     12
3456 789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated 26 Mar 2026 12:35 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios