mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
[personal profile] mayoraasei
Finally watched the two Iron Man movies properly. Cynical self-deprecating idiots who are too immature to wear the badge of superhero honour with self-important righteousness is right up my alley (not that that made any sense XD)

So apparently Marvel has a habit of forcing audience to stay for the credits.

At the end of Iron Man 2, Agent Coulson gets out of his car (having taken leave from Tony Stark in the middle of the movie) and sees Mewmew Mjollnir embedded in a rock. He pulls out a phone and reports, "Found it, sir."

The exact same scene appears in Thor shortly before Coulson confiscates all of Jane's research and Thor crashes Coulson's swirly construction. It would have helped if they explained Coulson's background a bit more for non-Marvel fans ==;;;; For most of the movie I thought Coulson was a bad guy (it did not help that in classic cannon fodder villain tradition he almost got blown to smithereens by the big Iron Man lookalike). And that he tried to recruit Thor by talking down to him.

Watching Iron Man makes me feel like I must have a mecca fangirl hidden in me somewhere. The coolest scenes (apart from the massively pwning laser beams and the endless arsenal of explosives) are the bits where he tests and constructs new hardware. That, and the movies' always got a sense of humour about it all.

And Tony Stark reminds me of Tony Di Nozzo, but...I guess though they could both manage to be annoying, at least Stark is less inappropriate. Funny that, both being playboys. Must be a Hollywood thing LOL

Date: 2011-04-24 10:04 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] oncloud999.livejournal.com
Cynical self-deprecating idiots who are too immature to wear the badge of superhero honour with self-important righteousness is right up my alley lol lol, that's such a good description of him!

TBH, I didn't really get the Thor reference until someone else told me 'cause I'm not really a Marvel (comic) fan, so yeah, I reckon some explanation for us would be nice.

Oooh!! You watch NCIS too??? I love that show! mainly cos it's fun entertainment with just a dose of crime fighting. =P

Date: 2011-04-24 11:37 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] luna-rainbow.livejournal.com
Haha I was initially going to go for "conflicted and ambiguous hero" but thought that was too trite and definitely a lot more mature than he deserves LOL I mean he flaunts his superhero status but half the time he doesn't behave like someone worth respecting. Somehow it makes him all the more endearing as a character (thought not, obviously, as a superhero XDDD)

I LOVE NCIS *Hi-5* Yeah it's comedy pretending to be crime, which is all well and good for me XDD Have you ever watched the Jap drama BOSS? It's got a similar feel...one of my faves XD

Profile

mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
mayoraasei

December 2018

M T W T F S S
     12
3456 789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated 26 Mar 2026 09:20 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios