mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (johnnys)
[personal profile] mayoraasei
When I first saw that title I LOL'ed because I thought it referred to the absence of someone.

Incidentally, I have not seen anyone really explore what the title is meant to indicate.



A conversation happened on Thursday. It went like this:
International student from America: What are you doing over the long weekend?
Me: THERE'S A LONG WEEKEND????

Ah life. Of a med student.



Every time some news of KT comes out and I see the hornet's nest that blows up it makes me glad that I am staying so far away from the fandom.......

To be honest, I don't like this album as much as their last one, which is sad because the last one didn't sell as well as KT's previous albums even though I pretty much liked every group song and most of the solos too.

But before all the whines of "they should stop changing their style!" and "they've just become another JE group!" and "their music sucks without *insert that person in LA here*!" fly up, it's worthwhile to think about:

A) Their music has always been evolving, just as they have. We know they normally have a substantial amount of choice in their music and it's one of the few avenues in which they explore their identities as a group. As they admit quite often, their individual tastes are quite different, so it is no surprise that the styles of their songs vary quite a bit from single to single, let alone album to album.

B) The other groups have been evolving too. It is unfair to pin "they're like *insert JE group name*" simply because of one song. Just because "Going" is like NEWS' usual style or "Heart beat" is like Arashi's usual style doesn't mean they've become that other group. Besides, variation has always been one of the strong points in KT's music when compared to other JE groups.

C) This is their debut venture into Asia. The album songs have clearly been chosen with that in mind. The most obvious characteristic (which Kame also referred to in his J-net comment) is that they've chosen songs that are distinctively different styles - from the disco-pop of "Right Now", the tropical feel of "Hello", the extravagant pop-rock of "No More Pain", the joyous piano of "Faraway" and the beautiful "Promise Song" ballad, not to mention the three included singles "Love Yourself", "D-Motion" and "Going" are three distinctly different styles too. It is clearly not like their previous album choice (BtR) in which several songs sounded quite similar in style.

Instead of choosing definite crowd-pleasers, they've gone for songs that shows their range and versatility, which is a good PR choice considering their upcoming performances. Hence I don't think it's surprising that fans don't like all of the songs on the album. Personally I think I only like about 3 or 4 songs at most, and I only really love "Promise Song". In some ways it's not an album just for fans, but think of it as their introduction, their CV...a collection of what they're able to achieve rather than their most pleasing crowd favourites.

Am I the only person in the solar system who's creeped out by their PV, by the way? T-T

Date: 2010-06-13 10:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kakeochi-umai.livejournal.com
LOL, I forgot about Queen's Birthday too. Public holidays really lose their meaning when you're a freelancer. XD

I've never really listened to much of KAT-TUN's stuff. I need some new stuff to listen to, so I might check them out.

Date: 2010-06-14 08:32 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kakeochi-umai.livejournal.com
Damn, you're not wrong about Promise Song. Wow, that's beautiful.

(Yeah, I dled it. Funnily enough, one of my other friends happened to be talking about it too.)

Date: 2010-06-15 03:51 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] luna-rainbow.livejournal.com
Hehe...I'm glad you like it. Although I have to say I'm liking it for purely musical merits as I haven't paid attention to the lyrics much....

After listening to "Faraway" a few times I quite like that too. There's something addictively feel-good about the tune ^^

Date: 2010-06-14 01:25 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] meissa.livejournal.com
I actually really like NMP. Like, really, really like. The PV, however, disturbs the hell out of me. The opening sequence is so very creepy, and their expressions... The whole thing just has a weird K-pop feel to it. The atmosphere is too heavy or something.

Date: 2010-06-15 01:39 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] luna-rainbow.livejournal.com
Yeah...there's something really discordant about the whole thing. And the makeup creeps me out...not just Kame's, but the stark colours on the other guys too......I don't know, there's something odd =_=;;;;;;

Profile

mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
mayoraasei

December 2018

M T W T F S S
     12
3456 789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated 25 Mar 2026 06:57 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios