mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
[personal profile] mayoraasei
After a whirlwind 2.5 days of orientation whereby anyone previously oriented to person, place and time are now completely disoriented, I am currently looking for an institute that offers a PhD in Organisational Timetabling or something to that effect, just so I know where to be to be doing what.

The organisation of 3rd year is that...it's not. The fortunate amongst us are given a rough schedule of what the medical teams we'll be attached to are doing, then we have a bunch of required fortnightly/weekly tutorials, and on top of that random assessments and presentations that take place weekly. Most of the group tutorials aren't fixed and right now very few people in the groups know what they're meant to be doing when, so it's like the uncertainty principle with twenty variables.

I'm going to need to buy a new diary, preferably one that has time slots printed in, preferably in 15 minute blocks and even more preferably, beginning at 7:30am and ending at about 5pm...Orz I still can't get used to the fact that I'm at uni in January (we in Aus don't start til March) and I keep writing down dates for Feb until I realise no...I'm actually still living in January!

The very thin grey line on the cloud is that I won't start my ophthalmology attachment until next Thursday afternoon, which is both good and bad because a) I get a super long weekend (until Wed) but b) I end up only doing one week of ophthal instead of two. The supervisor sounds very enthusiastic about his specialty which...again could be a good or bad thing.

So yeah, how this relates to anyone is that at the moment I pretty much only know my timetable for the next day, which means I have no idea when/if my free times are. The learning is also structured so that it is almost entirely self-directed which is going to be very bad when the new year enthusiasm wears off in about 2 days.

This could be an........interesting 2 years. At least the hospital has year-round air-con. LOL.

Date: 2010-01-22 08:19 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jkylk.livejournal.com
I have to start uni in Feb. =( But i think i get longer holidays. =D

*there there* Yeah..at least u have air-con which is all u can ever want on a day like today and tomorrow.

Date: 2010-01-22 11:23 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] luna-rainbow.livejournal.com
TSK you Macquarie people you get the same amount of holidays STOP COMPLAINING LOL

Obviously I won't be at uni tomorrow. LOL.

Date: 2010-01-22 11:48 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] idrilcelebrindl.livejournal.com
You're back in January? Yikes. I won't be back until March ^^ Honestly... I'm trying not to think about it

I've avoided a certain cadio/renal physiology course for the past 2 years, but I have to do it if I want to graduate this year *depressed*.

Good luck on your 3rd year =)

Date: 2010-01-22 12:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] oncloud999.livejournal.com
OMG, I know how you feel. It's only the first week and I'm already dying. DYING!!! 7:30am starts should be illegal. =/

Profile

mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
mayoraasei

December 2018

M T W T F S S
     12
3456 789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated 25 Mar 2026 04:20 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios