mayoraasei: (Jdrama)
[personal profile] mayoraasei
Taking a break from the basal ganglia ==;

Very interesting lineup for next season. It looks like JE is coming out in full force, even if we discount Akanishi's Bandage and that strange JE-only drama about Room 0.

Next season's gekku will be the 2nd season of Code Blue. I still stand by my view that Yamashita and Aragaki can't act, so I'll pretty much be, once again, watching it just for Toda Erika. Besides, the plot was pretty good last season, not that I learned any emergency medicine apart from seeing my first TV drama praecordial thump...LOL.

At the same time Erika will still be in the 2nd season of Liar Game, as well as preparing for the launch of the associated movie. She's going to be one very busy girl.

Yama-chan's Hidarime Tantei Eye got the go-ahead for a series. The plot of the special REALLY SUCKED so I'm not expecting anything out of this. Yoko's really delegating himself into a niche if he keeps taking villain roles. But he's so good at them ♥

Sho's going to be in something with Maki-chan, Tokujo Kabachi!!. Something about a law firm, apparently, and my first reaction was ".....boring". And it has Maki-chan! Who has the ability to make any role insipid. I'm sorry. She's cute but she bores me to tears every time. Sho isn't such a good actor either, so it will be....interesting, for all the wrong reasons.

Edit (25/11/09): Bloody Monday season 2 ~ The Chest of Despair (Pandora's Box?) confirmed for Saturday 8pm slot next season. Should be fun! And there won't be K. I hope Satou has better looking hair this time Orz

Aside from the overwhelming JE presence, it's going to be another manga otaku season. Aside from Liar Game, other manga being adapted for next season include:
- Yamato Nadeshiko Shichihenge/The Wallflower: a shoujo manga about a creepy ugly girl who is actually really beautiful and cool, living with 4 beautiful guys. Unfortunately it's nowhere near as wittily sardonic as Host Club, whatever it tries to tell itself.
- Encounter: a sci-fi manga about encounters with the paranormal
- Shinsengumi Peace Maker: a shounen/fantasy manga that does another take on the Meiji Restoration period. I'm surprised about this adaptation to be honest ==;;;;
- Angel Bank: A spin-off from the popular high school manga/drama Dragon Zakura, before Gokusen stole its thunder. LOL.

There's no indication for a timeslot for The Wallflower yet, but if the recent trends of shoujo adaptations are any clue, it will probably be a late night drama. Or maybe Tuesday night after Liar Game finishes? I'm guessing it will be FujiTV since they have the rights to the anime.

It's cloudy and windy and it is STILL 39 degrees. UGH.




Probably would not have recognised her if I didn't know it was her O__o;;;

Date: 2009-11-22 07:00 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] myosotis-love.livejournal.com
WHOA THAT'S ERIKA TODA? O______________O Could not tell at all, but she looks good!

And ajtealt WHEN ARE THEY GOING TO MAKE A HOST CLUB DRAMA? DDDD: I'm dying for that to happen... but I'm also worried that they'd butcher it because I tend not to like drama adaptations that much >< (though the anime adaptation was good). It'd be hard to capture the characters from the manga, especially Tamaki without looking too irritating rather than endearing >

Date: 2009-11-23 03:32 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] luna-rainbow.livejournal.com
YES, it's Erika with a wig XDD (Because in the same photoshoot she had long hair)

She looks rather cute in it. Makes me want to see her in short hair. I'd like to see her pull an Ueno Juri and trim off all her locks (but then I'd probably get killed by all her male fans LOL)

Yeah...I'm not too keen on Host Club adaptation. The only two shoujo adaptations I've been happy with are Hana Yori Dango and Nodame Cantabile, and both of these had comparatively big budgets and great casting. Host Club would need some very astute casting and scriptwriting to make it not come across as camp and tryhard. Casting for Tamaki would have to be very good because he the line between being adorably silly and annoyingly stupid is pretty thin!

Date: 2009-11-23 03:46 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] myosotis-love.livejournal.com
I have a huge soft spot for women with pixie do’s that pull it off well! I find women more attractive with short hair actually XD, but I guess in Japan the women prefer having long pretty straight hair... XDDD

Very true. Plus I can’t imagine them doing a good job with the school and how lavish everything is without a huge budget, so if they can’t replicate that (I’m just thinking about the cosplaying they do and how much that would cost.... it wouldn’t be host club without it), then I would rather see no adaptation (but I’m still futilely hoping for more anime episodes because I really liked the first season XD)

Profile

mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
mayoraasei

December 2018

M T W T F S S
     12
3456 789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated 25 Mar 2026 05:46 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios