mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Gah)
[personal profile] mayoraasei
The raws of the last chapter of Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicle came out today (is this person really writing her essay?) YES. I AM. I have 100 words to go and I need a really really long break.

My reaction to it is best summed up as WWWWWW. TTTTT. FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF.

WTFWTFWTFWTFWTF!!!!!!

I have to admit, this series tops Gundam 00 in WTFness. I KNOW.

CLAMP has always been a master of WTFness and I don't know if I put up with them before because I was young and tolerant =__=

But this, on top of Tokyo Babylon's type WTF WHYYY? also has X/1999 random cliffhanger's WTF WHYYYYYYY!!!!!!

This series is made of one long string of WTFness. Starting in page one chapter one with Syaoran and Sakura being locked in a glass tube. WTF!!!!

After the fans got used to the fact it's a protracted self-doujin, CLAMP changed pace from shounen to epic and that's when the WTF$hit really hit the proverbial fan.

So okay, by this point I don't care if I'm spoiling anyone any more, so Real!Syaoran is the son of Clone!Syaoran and Clone!Sakura, and he gets captured by trying to stop Real!Sakura getting killed, and in the process he gets locked up and cloned and Clone!Syaoran starts leading his life until the point where Real!Sakura's? Clone!Sakura's? feathers got scattered?.....okay, now I can't even remember when the Clone!Sakura came in Orz And Watanuki was also a clone of Real!Syaoran to fill some convoluted time loop. ARRRRRGH. What is this? Aeronautical engineering?

And all this Fei Wang crap was about him trying to resurrect Yuuko, who then disappears anyway, and WHY DID THE CLONES DISAPPEAR TOO?! Where's the plot device that forced the stupid choice on Watanuki and Real!Syaoran?

And so wait, wait, so, Clone!Syaoran and Clone!Sakura met in Hongkong in a scene reminiscent of CCS!Syaoran and CCS!Sakura, but THAT CAN'T BE RIGHT, RIGHT?! DON'T GO RETCONNING A PERFECTLY HAPPY SHOUJO MANGA FOR THIS STUPID WTFNESS!!!! Leave CCS!Syaoran and CCS!Sakura alone *cries*

The ending was exactly the same as the spoilers that came out a few days ago ==; Syaoran and Watanuki made opposing choices - Watanuki will always stay at one place (Yuuko's shop), unable to leave, while Syaoran will never be able to remain at one place. Syaoran said he can still feel the other Syaoran alive inside himself, hence even though it is impossible to revive the dead, it should be possible to find a physical form for a soul that's still alive. Sakura said she can't go with him because she will make it harder for him (why girl, learn how to fight and make use of yourself ="=) Fai and Kurogane both said they will travel with Syaoran, and Mokona is obviously going too because they need its magic. And just as Mokona teleports them away...Syaoran and Sakura reaches for each other and shouts, simultaneously, "My real name is...Tsubasa."

WTF I DON'T CARE.

Let's hope it redeems itself in xxxHolic =____= It really needs a backstory about Fei Wang's obsession.

Date: 2009-10-05 07:49 pm (UTC)
From: (Anonymous)
*facepalm*

I feel EXACTLY the same as you. I just...just WHAT THE FACK.
lajfjeijakljdkjioaejojdlkjaljdlkjfjdaljdfjojfeaijeijajiejoai;
at least im not the only one lol. but still D:<<

Date: 2009-10-06 05:02 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] luna-rainbow.livejournal.com
Oh GOOD. I'm not the only one.

I mean I could easily put up with Tokyo Babylon type gut-wrenching why-did-you-have-to-do-that WTF-ness again, but this....this.....this #@$&&%&#@&@...

No amount of wordless anguish can express Orz

Date: 2009-10-05 11:36 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lisamio.livejournal.com
OH GAWD LOOLLLLLLLLLLLL.
This is... hilarious. YEARS OF PAINFUL WAITING FOR SUCH HILARITY HAHA G'JOB CLAMP.

/back to LOLing

Date: 2009-10-06 08:00 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] luna-rainbow.livejournal.com
I think it's a sign for me to move with the times and stop being a CLAMP fan because seriously, I'm just asking to be mindscrewed -0-

Date: 2009-10-06 06:08 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] angkat114.livejournal.com
That has got to be the most emotional review of TRC that I've ever read.

Ever.

EVER.

EVERRRRR.

But yeah, you summed up the series pretty well and this series is getting more and more ridiculous with each chapter release.

So, everybody say. WTF?!

Date: 2009-10-06 08:06 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] luna-rainbow.livejournal.com
LOL. I just pressed on my "clamp" tag and realised that practically every post I've made mention of them, there's a "WTF?!" in there somewhere. The series makes me want to unscrew CLAMP's skulls just to see what's in them ="=

For a while I actually like R!Syaoran, but with all the self-incest I just....argh =__=

I'll just go back to peacefully fangirlling Fai, who's never disappointed me ♥

Date: 2009-10-07 12:50 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] scrump-parfait.livejournal.com
The ending was an epic failure. T_T
It really sucks.

Date: 2009-10-09 09:45 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] luna-rainbow.livejournal.com
I think they should just go back to their shoujo/fantasy/shounen-ai fanbase after this ==;

Date: 2009-10-07 03:08 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] meissa.livejournal.com
I lost faith in CLAMP a loooooong time ago. (Yeah, X, I'm looking at you!)

I've forgotten they were still publishing.

Date: 2009-10-09 09:42 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] luna-rainbow.livejournal.com
X will forever be an unhealed scar in my memory (exaggerating)

I'd have quite liked xxxHolic by itself if it didn't have anything to do with Tsubasa =/ (They ran the two manga concurrently and the plot was linked with each other, although it was mostly two separate stories)

Date: 2009-10-10 02:08 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] meissa.livejournal.com
I did like the first few volumes of xxxHolic, but I dropped it along the way. I'll pick it up again some day.

Tsubasa has been one volume of WTF-ery after another, though. I quite liked the idea in the beginning because I really liked the new characters. But I don't know. CLAMP must've been high on something when they made the later volumes and I just gave up. Based on what everyone's been saying, though, I'm glad I got out when I did or it might have broken my brain.

Profile

mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
mayoraasei

December 2018

M T W T F S S
     12
3456 789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated 25 Mar 2026 05:42 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios