mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
[personal profile] mayoraasei
First an aside: am I the only one who thinks the whole Miley Cyrus topless saga should be promptly thrown out the window, simply because far from looking suggestive or anywhere approaching seductive, she looks like a vampiric banshee just woken from her slumber and ready to dig her claws into the nearest warm-blooded creature?

=0=;;;;

Meh, it's hard to get into a storm over a "suggestive" picture when all it induces is an "ew, uncool undead look?" from me >__>;;

Okay, back to anime!


Kamen Maid Guy

You'd never guess I got recommended this by a girl ==;;;; She said it was "like Combat Butler Hayate", which though rather brainless, was also rather cute.

I guess somewhere the basic concept is similar. The daughter of a ridiculously rich family needing constant protection from unknown assailants, and her protector also works as an all-purpose babysitter/housekeeper/butler/maid.

Somewhere there, the similarity ends. Where Hayate was big-eyed, serious-faced and somewhat cute, the Maid Guy - whose name I can't remember because I spent too much of the time agog at the glowing eyes from his mask - is....well...a man of godly proportions. Said god being the god of bodybuilders.

And while Hayate seemed somewhat of as a fairly gender-neutral story with a shoujo tilt, the amount of bouncing boobs in the opening was enough to alert any unwary peruser of the very, uh, specific audience Maid Guy caters to. The episode continues with similar such fanservice, randomly clothes being torn, bras being brandied, and of course, the obligatory nekkid shower scene.

Funny how in shower scenes that the first part of the anatomy girls immediately cover is their boobs. You'd think, being standing up, there is a more, ahem, important part (taking a leaf from Kodocha =P).

While there are some hints of the plot, it's not enticing to the point where I'd want to hang around and sit through all the underwear.

Recommended only for, ahem, its target audience.


Itazura na Kiss

I was told that this is a shoujo classic that's finally being made into an anime. To be honest, I didn't even give this anime a fair run, being so bored by 2 minutes into it that I utilised Realplayer's new and nifty fast forward function and watched the rest of the 20minute episode in about 8 minutes.

It's a classic and it shows. Even the art and opening/ending themes seem purposely dated. The story, from what I could make of it, was a girl who liked a guy and then confessed to him that she liked him but of course he didn't really care for her but through some random plot device stroke of fate their two families began to live under the same household. WHAT WILL THIS NEW CLOSENESS BRING TO THEIR RELATIONSHIP??????

It probably has more depth than that, but I've never been able to stand watching pure romance anime. Don't get me wrong, I read plenty of romance-type manga, so it's not like I'm totally averse to that sort of thing. But manga has a nifty feature called........."flip really quickly through the pages".

Of course, the sort of set-up is really reminiscent of romantic manga from the 1990s - the aloof, arrogant guy who's good at EVERY BLOODY THING and the stupid ditzy girl who can't wipe her ass to save herself. Okay, I'm probably being mean, and I think the character in Itazura na Kiss rises (slightly) above that. Nevertheless that's the stereotype she falls into and I've been sick of it ever since the heyday of Fushigi Yuugi and Sailormoon.

The only couple who's based on that stereotype but managed to make it work brilliantly is Nodame Cantabile and that's because Chiaki-sama deserved everything he got, including Nodame XD

Only recommended if you like watching pure romantic anime with plot in the vein of Marmalade Boy, or if you really liked the manga. I mean, it doesn't even have the quirks that made Hana Yori Dango or Aishiteruze Baby unique.......at least from what little I saw. Which was little, and sped up.



Gintama is cool. I have grown an immense soft spot for Hijikata XD My favourite is still Okita...anyone who deadpans while bazooka-ing his superior, then saying, "Tsk, missed again, huh" deserves my love XDD

Gokusen 3 (drama) is...............................

Maaaaaaaan, I'm torn between my love for Nakama Yukie (one of the few Jap actresses I like as one of the very few female characters I like) and the omgugliness of the main characters................

Noooooooooo gimme back MatsuJun and Oguri Shun and Kame and Jin!!!!!! And Koike! Koike is so cute! XD

And there ARE hot guys in Hey! Say! JUMP....why choose the ugly one RAARGH.

It's so weird seeing sweet-faced Yabu all grown up now >__>;;;;

And he looks so differently.....Unlike Ryou....who never changed XDDD

...Man, sorry, long post ==;

Date: 2008-05-01 02:16 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] siu.livejournal.com
gokusen 3~?~? Oooh! I must getttt~ I hope she stops pulling out her hair ties so much though... >

Date: 2008-05-01 02:21 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] luna-rainbow.livejournal.com
The guys are ugly =0=;;; Don't say I didn't warn you.....

Okay okay, I have to admit I have a huge bias for Kame/Jin/Jun/Shun but......

......They're ugly *scrubs eyes*

It's so much worse when ugly guys try to act hot ToT

Date: 2008-05-01 04:21 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] nicky87.livejournal.com
awww I thought miura haruma was HOT XD hahaha ishiguro hideo? is pretty hot in his own way too XP I shall say nothing about takaki... cause i like my takaki baka and paired up with chinen cause they have the same mentality XP B.A.D is mmm wtv... although the not so main guy in B.A.D cant rmb his name... reminds me of ueda XP

so far i think they've tried to make it original albeit failing to do so... cause the story line is still exactly the same as the previous 2... but i suppose they can't change it up much just like kinpachi sensei...

honestly I don't see any kokousei looking guys from HSJ besides takaki qualifying to look anything like matsujun/jin/sawada shin daiki is too nice, inoo i dont see a badass, yabu and hikaru just dont look like "sawada shin" which leaves us with HS7 whom in the first place will not even begin to qualify as kokousei's... Maybe they should have picked someone from kiss my ft2 or something... the juniors...

Date: 2008-05-01 05:09 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] luna-rainbow.livejournal.com
Haven't spent too long looking at the rest of the guys cos been too busy scarred by the main guys ==;;; They look so.....goth wannabe or something ==;;;;; I mean there were weird-looking people in 1 and 2 but they at least looked like they'd exist in real life ==;;;;; And their plucked eyebrows scare me......... At least guys in 1 and 2 didn't look over-groomed (except maybe Kame ==;;;;;)

If they went without a Shin type it might turn out to be more original ==; Besides, in the manga Shin had the hots for Yankumi so I kinda wish they didn't reuse his character ==;;; His place with Yankumi is special! Special! LOL.

Maybe I'm just biased for Arashi and KATTUN ^^;;;

Date: 2008-05-01 05:16 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] nicky87.livejournal.com
^^;; Miura Haruma is Kazama... one of the leads... haha well i suppose at some stage they do it anyway? as in eyebrow plucking... trend in j-idols haha... basically they chose 3 junon superboys and 3 johnnys...

hmmmn i shall reserve comment on that cause I havent quite read the gokusen manga yet...

haha I'm a KAT-TUN fan but i accept they're too old for gokusen now XP since gokusen kinda looks like a launching pad for careers before them was akame... and teppei... they're probably hoping these guys turn into how assets after gokusen based on the tv ratings...

Date: 2008-05-02 05:38 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] luna-rainbow.livejournal.com
I don't want KAT-TUN to be in Gokusen 3! That would be weird! LOL

But the guys haven't made a great first impression......meh, maybe they'll grow on me ~~;;;;;;;

(And you gotta admit, Akame had heaps better screen chemistry =P =P)

Date: 2008-05-02 10:50 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] nicky87.livejournal.com
yea it would unless they come back like Kuma or something for a guest appearance XD

hmmmn I think this time round they start trusting yankumi abit too early? if that makes sense... like it's only the second episode XO I do admit however takaki hasn't quite taken his role... not convincing enough... kazama on the other hand is abit too trusting... given he;s not suppose to trust teachers... just after one incident he totally takes to heart what yankumi says?? is abit too :S

haha well that's cause they come from the same group and have been together for a number of years! i don't think even if they threw 2 HSJ members there will be the same chemistry XO

Profile

mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
mayoraasei

December 2018

M T W T F S S
     12
3456 789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated 25 Mar 2026 07:30 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios