mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
[personal profile] mayoraasei
SA getting anime adaption

Okay, I think a lot of people will enjoy this, because it has some really unique characters, is shoujo but not romance overboard, the girl is sufficiently cool and capable but thick-skulled (romance-related), and the art is pretty nice.

I admit I have a closet love for this manga.

But the thing that really irks me about it is that it pretends to be different to all the other manga with ditzy heroines and smart cool heroes by creating a heroine who is also an extremely high achiever......

It REALLY pisses me off because no matter how hard the girl works at what she does, she can never surpass the guy who doesn't even lift a thumb to do any work. Not academically, not in sports, not emotionally and not socially. W.T.H.

ARGH. Rather than softening the gender prejudices, it unintentionally intensifies the perceptions. It's like saying no matter how hard a girl tries, she'll never beat a guy who doesn't even give a damn. UGH. (And I might have liked Kei more if he wasn't so damn SMUG about doing nothing.)

At least Kare Kano however boring that was (can't believe I read all 21 volumes of this shoujo "classic". Then again, I can't believe I read all 23 volumes of Fruits Basket and all 18 volumes of Peach Girl...), had both main characters as very smart because they worked their guts out at it. Even Raito did his homework!

There's a range of interesting personalities amongst the other characters in SA though. I just don't like what the main characters say about gender dynamics.

------------ I divide, I say, so I do ------------


If there's anything Fukuda (GS/GSD director) does better than Mizushima (FMA/G00 director), it's scripting for "destined" meetings. Nothing beats "destiny" played out in the way Athrun and Kira reunited in the first episode of Seed, particularly not the lame attempt at introducing Setsuna to Princess what's-her-face.

If anything, it's more like a meeting contrived through the mutual stupidity of both parties. As if you'd waive diplomatic indemnity for a random terrorist look-alike stranger who looked sort of like your national (and turns out not to be)! And AS IF, when you got slapped only a few days ago for "exposing your identity" by climbing out of the cockpit, masked and everything, you would face a stranger and say "I am Setsuna F. Seiei, Gundam pilot for Celestial Beings". Tieria! You're gonna so regret not blowing out Setsuna's brains!

------------ Divide, this does, also --------------


Damn Liberal voters (baseless assumption) and their backwater racist values. We were resting at fly-infested Goulburn today (on our way to sunbaked and fly-infested Young) and a trio of old white people came in, saw the bunch of Chinese faces waiting at the counter and exlaimed, "We're getting invaded!"

Then they scampered near us and sneered, "Do any of you speak English? Why did you come to Australia?"

When the person standing nearest to them had trouble answering, instead of being like any other politely curious and friendly Caucasian, they sniffed and ignored her asking them to repeat their question.

And since I was standing close, I said, in perfect English (of course =P) "We're going to Young for a band performance."

At which point they got this horrid "oops we picked on the wrong people" look on their faces and edged away and did not talk to us again. Which is almost a pity.

Okaaay maaaaaaaate. The only difference between me and you where "Aussie" is concerned is that your family got here earlier =P I bet you weren't here 40000 years ago when the first Aborigines got here!

It's getting so weary to be treated like a foreigner just because I'm not blonde and blue-eyed. Just a few days ago I got asked at the aquarium, despite asking in perfect English about the tickets, what COUNTRY I was from. Sincerely stunned, I gave her a look and said, "Uhhhh, HERE??"

It annoyed me because a Lebanese friend (who, incidentally, looked more Italian than Lebanese) didn't get that "what country are you from" question....just because she's white-skinned and green-eyed and brown-haired? *Rolls eyes*

And occasionally I get the "are you an international student" question, which would have been so much better asked the other way around "are you a local student", because at least an "oh, but you speak such good English" would have sounded better than "oh, you don't look like a local student".

Look.

Damn Liberals.

(Yeah, I do realise that going rural means I'll meet more of these backwater racist white people who still thinks that "Aussie" is anyone who is white and isn't American. Ze joy! A tiny voice at the back of my mind will probably be sniggering "Well, I bet I have a bigger vocab! I can spell haemoglobulinaemia! The British way!" LOL)

Date: 2007-12-02 02:34 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jezjezjezza.livejournal.com
o_o I too have the impression that 'liberal' tends to be correlated with 'racist', but have honestly no idea where the impression came from.

prolly john howard ;)

*sigh* some people..

ps, wrapping! jodie threw another day at me and I didn't know what to do with it so I agreed! but I want to wrap with you! *clings*

hahaha

Date: 2007-12-02 07:36 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jkylk.livejournal.com
That's funny. I'm the other way around, when u go to hurstville or where i live (asian majority suburbs), the cashiers never speak chinese to me despite them speaking chinese to the person in front. Same as my mum, the people at the counter, despite their poor english, would still speak to my mum in english even though they spoke to the person in front in chinese!?!?!??! HAHAHA...

Anyways, people living in rural areas tend to be like the persona in "On First seeing sydney." =/

You read Kare Kano!?!??! =O =O LOL I watched bits and pieces of Kare Kano. hehe

Re: hahaha

Date: 2007-12-02 08:02 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] luna-rainbow.livejournal.com
I got that when I went to a Jap store! The checkout chick spoke in Japanese to everyone but moi! =( How could she tell? LOL

But you guys don't look Chinese =P

Hey, do you get picked up from tutoring? Can't you take the newspaper home?

Re: hahaha

Date: 2007-12-02 10:41 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] luna-rainbow.livejournal.com
PS: Yeah...I read KareKano cos a friend's sis had almost the entire set. I think I also have the anime somewhere (English, for once haha). Not my kind of shoujo though, LOL.

And since the main reason I read any manga is for the art (it would have to have really good plot/jokes for me to read it otherwise), there were only about 2 volumes in the middle when I liked the art, before it got all Furuba-fied and people became so elongated and simplified =/

You should watch SA if/when it comes out! It's one of those shoujo-y plots I think you'll like a lot, and depending on the adaptation it should be able to keep its slapstick humour.

Except it probably coincides with your HSC XDDD

Profile

mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
mayoraasei

December 2018

M T W T F S S
     12
3456 789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated 26 Mar 2026 03:13 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios