mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
[personal profile] mayoraasei
Wow, do we live in the same country? I live in a place called the United States. And in the US, 99% of kids call effeminate boys "fags." Point being, Kira and Athrun are "fags" and the Gundam Wing boys do not look like "fags."

When you mention kids and preteens, how young are we talking about? 5 yrs old? I can't think of a single cartoon that has a girlish looking boy that my 8 yr old barber's son watches. Not a single one. From birth to death, the average American person will never watch a single piece of media that has a girly boy as a hero. I can easily imagine a little boy watching Heero from GW and trying to mimic or even dress like him him. I can NOT imagine a boy watching Kira and wanting to dress like him. .........

And don't forget Athrun's "girl scout" uniform, in the scene where he gives Kira the Birdie toy. Good Lord, that was a Brokeback Colony moment to most people, I'm sure. Weren't there pink love petals flying around, too? Yeeeeesh. And oy... Mwu La Flaga has a pink pilot suit...

To claim that Gundam Wing's success had nothing to do with whether or not the characters looked like "fags" is kinda a stretch. I can agree that Gundam SEED probably failed for a variety of other reasons, too, but to discount the "fag" factor is just too much.


For the last time, they're not making a new GUNDAM series to pamper to your homophobic, stereotyped, redneck tastes, geddit?!

This is another reason why the rest of the world is so unhappy with America.

For the friggin last time, this anime is made in JAPAN. JAPAN GODDAMN IT. Have you seen the sort of pop idols that come out of JAPAN?! Or even the rest of Asia?!

Admittedly, guys studded with earrings and with carefully manicured nails still make me go "ugh" inside, but THIS IS JAPAN. It's not......faggism, it's just another way of life.

(Not all Japanese people are like that, thank God.)

Why the hell do you think bullying and homophobia is so rampant in "99% of America"? Because, god forbid, any "boy" who looks vaguely "girlish" is a FAG and deserves to be shot and dismembered and fed to the Devil.

It's a bitter irony of their society that this bullying and homophobia doesn't mutually exclude the scores of boys who come out each year, admitting to being sexually abused.

It's not even about the issue of homosexuality any more. It's about guys not being recognised as guys unless they're squeezed into that narrow-minded, traditional view of what a macho man should be, and if they don't fit that stereotype, they're.....o.m.g. a FAG.

...........This argument would have been so much less vexing if this person didn't flaunt America as though it was the epitome of all that is right and righteous.

.............And for the LAST TIME, the GUNDAM series isn't MARKETED to the AMERICAN audience. Go sit in a corner and cry.

PS: I bet somewhere, some American fan is whining that the Gundam Wing girls look butch. *Rolls eyes*

Profile

mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
mayoraasei

December 2018

M T W T F S S
     12
3456 789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated 25 Mar 2026 06:56 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios