mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
[personal profile] mayoraasei
("Let's hope they don't drag it out to 7-8 volumes more." Oh puh-leez, this is CLAMP. They haven't ended anything since Chobits in 2001.)

Since CLAMP has forcefully marched XXXHolic and Tsubasa into the unbuoyant mooshpits of angst and haemorrhage and eye-lossage, this new avatar is in memory of happier times...when everyone thought Holic was comedy and Tsubasa a narcissist masturbatory crossover, which it happily still is.

Apparently Subaru-chan graces the cover of volume 18 (deluxe), looking for all the world like an uke torn between two creepy semes, but in actual fact he's just torn between Seishirou and Kamui, who is also torn between Fuuma and, er, I'm-not-Fuuma-I'm-Kamui-Kamui.

He's also a vampire *headdesk* While I like all that goth getup, the Subbie of Tokyo Babylon would probably cry if he saw "himself" like that, moping behind Kamui, who still has limbs so thin you could probably snap them with one finger [1]. Kamui-chan also now has CLAWS.

It is also in homage to fans who are exercising their mastery of applied physics to a dream involving blood (they needn't have bothered, the answer was SPOILER ALERT***!!!!~~~!!!***11!!11 this lovely tableau 3 chapters later).

All this happened in a Rayearth crossover world, the only squee factor of which was the sight of Eagle Vision pretending to be evil. It also had two other Rayearth guys whose names I would have known six years ago, but now they're named simply as "Meh One" and "Meh Two". The girls did not make an appearance except in the form of the Angel Hikaru. Yes, the Angel that (which they insist is called "automata", but I insist Angel as it's so much cooler when it reminds me of) @--\\--****ICCHAN-SAN****--//--@ made and was named after Rayearth Hikaru, who had a name very much like Hikaru no Go no Hikaru not only because both of them were Hikaru, but because one was Shindou Hikaru and the other Shidou Hikaru.

Don't ask me which is which! Google it yourself!

CLAMP appears to have a Cassandra complex. "The future cannot be changed," uttered Hinoto, Kakyou, Yuuko, Fei Wan, random person in XXXHolic. It's still a question mark whether Sakura managed to change her future or she's just rushing into it like a lemming to the sea.

And in the train wreck, Tsubasa now has Evil!Murderer!Clone!Syaoran and Real!Taciturn!Syaoran and Guilt-ridden!Vampire!Fai and Depressed!Weepy!Mokona and one Kurogane who's mightily pissed off, and not just because Sakura's raining blood ruined his new bondage wear. Ahem.

This is moving more into familiar CLAMP territory, and the tacky shounen plotline is buried neatly under CLAMP's house special - angsty bishounens. It's an investment that's paid off, and the fans that stayed will enjoy what comes.....

Or at least cry themselves to sleep...over the good old times when we thought there was only one Syaoran; when the family had Daddy Kurogane, Mummy Fai, good boy Syaoran, good girl Sakura and cutie cute Mokona; and when Fai still had two blue eyes and a beautiful smile and called Kurogane Kuro-sama, Kurorin, Kuromin, Kuropon, Kurobin, Kuropin, Kuropinpin♥....

Awww.



In the other world, Yuuko is still my all time favourite female main character of any manga and anime series ever ever. Yeah. Like. Ever. *Fangirls Yuuko*



[1] I've always considered Subaru to be much more mature and stronger than Kamui, and that's not just because he's older. Subaru lost his twin sister and the one person he trusted, but he was able to walk through it on his own. As soon as Kamui lost Kotori and Fuuma turned evil, he was running into Subaru's arms and moping like a wet dishcloth. Yeah, it stank.

Date: 2007-04-05 11:29 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jezjezjezza.livejournal.com
shidou hikaru is the MKR one, of course :D umi ryuuzaki, fuu hououji and hikaru shidou...........

argh, I can't believe I remember this stuff.. O_O I actually only have (had. I lost it?) a few MKR episodes.. and forgot the story..

nice icon fenglet! the nyaa-ness has been updated? :D

ICCHAN-SAN!!!!

Date: 2007-04-05 12:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] luna-rainbow.livejournal.com
Teehee~ Thank you XD Yuuko-sama is the best!!!

I don't actually have the scanlations for XXXHolic, but if you can sit through bad fan translations and dodgy slow MSN connection and lanky non-CLAMP-like art, you can read it online (http://groups.msn.com/eXeXeXHOLICManga/_whatsnew.msnw).

Once I got used to the art I quite liked it actually. It's very oriental and suits the flavour of the manga.

I also have the anime but unfortunately it's in Chinese. I don't think Watanuki loses out to Icchan-san on idiocy, but he loses out on coolness. Aww.

But Yuuko-sama is! The! Best! She is the embodiment of Nyaa-ism. She's the Goddess of Nyaa.

LOL

You'll probably like Holic if you can get past the first few chapters. It's so remarkably unlike CLAMP and unlike your typical shounen.

...I'll tell you about Tsubasa at another time. Seriously, I hated Tsubasa until I randomly saw what happened in chapter 120 and went "W.T.F.?!" and ran to my nearest manga-reading place (ahem) and read all of it.

.......It only gets good starting from volume 13.........

Date: 2007-04-06 12:49 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jezjezjezza.livejournal.com
T_T I have no msn.. ooh, but I do hear good things about xxxholic ..mainly from you and stew XD

+_+ argh, I'm so tired.. yesterday's assignment took a week to finish.. *sob*

Profile

mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
mayoraasei

December 2018

M T W T F S S
     12
3456 789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated 28 Mar 2026 02:26 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios