mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
[personal profile] mayoraasei
Oh, I dearly love Ctrl+Alt+Del, and this just made my day: PC's answer to the Mac ad.

I've always been a fence-sitter in the Mac vs PC debate, but Apple's starting to piss me off more and more these days ==;;; Their iPods are the fugliest and most overrated pieces of technological crap......

It may also be remnant bad memories about QuickTime, probably the buggiest and ugliest (ok, WMPlayer is uglier, but at least it didn't try to pretend it was anything else) player I've ever been forced to endure.


.....Okay, I think I've just about pissed off every raving mad Mac lover there is....ahem, moving on.

On Wednesday I went with Carmen to see The Illusionist.

I have to admit, our reasons were impure, as we went to see it purely for the name =P Normally romcom is not the type of movie I like to catch.

I really enjoyed Ever After, which was also a period romantic film with a happy ending, and dire fate for the villains, but somehow made enjoyable in spite of all the Hollywood conventions.

If Ever After was a retelling of Cinderella, then The Illusionist is almost like a retelling of Bluebeard...the violent fiance who forces a marriage on a reluctant woman, the woman's loved one rescuing her and granting the villain justice....

But it is much wittier than that. It is a quiet film, so for once I have no problem actually hearing what they say. It takes its time to lay out its web, a grand illusion so empty of violence and yet so effectively lethal.

Edward Norton is not exactly a heart-throb, but now I don't suppose I would have wanted it any other way. He gave Eisenheim a natural, unaffected charisma that was so appealing in its humility and sincerity that I don't suppose any cocky Hollywood son could pull it off better.

It's a pity that The Prestige stole its thunder, because The Illusionist is a much more magical film, and that magic coming much more at ease for our protagonist, who weaves his sleights-of-hand effortlessly with a quiet and unexaggerated stage demeanour. Unlike Angier and Borden of The Prestige, Eisenheim was an intelligent man who possessed magic, not an intelligent man possessed by magic, and so we love him more, for all the trickery that he gracefully avoids explaining.

The other characters are also much more likeable, the poor pressured policeman who at once respects Eisenheim and is driven by his Prince to arrest the Illusionist; and self-contained, level-eyed Sophie. Although I must say it took me a while to recognise them through all the Victorian-age beards.......

The Illusionist is less a provocative movie than The Prestige, but it is a wonderfully told fairytale, and as fairytales are...speak of magic that make you sleep better at night.

Date: 2007-03-10 12:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bludger1985.livejournal.com
PS3 vs XBOX360 and Wii debates are very similar in nature too. Since only nerds play XBOX and little kids play Wii and snobs play PS3, you know how things turn out XD

Date: 2007-03-10 11:17 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jezjezjezza.livejournal.com
oh dear, that makes me a little kid.. (or a 'girl'. oh!)

*grin* yeah, CAD is awesome XD I want ethan to make ME a time machine!!

Date: 2007-03-11 03:09 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] luna-rainbow.livejournal.com
Even I find the jokes funny and I'm not even a gamer XD

*Snickers* I want to prebook an ambulance one week in advance too XD Not for myself, of course XD

You mean the time machine that takes you to a future where gaming and alcohol and dying will be require a permit and be taxed? LOL!!

Date: 2007-03-11 03:15 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jezjezjezza.livejournal.com
XD yup, I'm not much of a gamer either; I only do rpgs (and some rts games, and of course, MMORPGs, although neopets is the only one I actually play (but I suppose I've tried conquer.. oh dear, I'm babbling?))

for me? *blinks innocently* :D? if so, I feel loved.. ^O^!

yeah, possibly :P.. but actually, I want it for the same reason ethan did (to get more time to do stuff, like play all the games he wants right when they're released)

..does ted remind you of penpen from evangelion, or is it just me?

Date: 2007-03-11 03:26 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] luna-rainbow.livejournal.com
Never was a fan of Eva...only watched a quarter of an episode, which I didn't get.

Date: 2007-03-11 03:34 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jezjezjezza.livejournal.com
lol! I almost assumed you watched one of the last two episodes, but now that I come to think of it.. every episode made no sense.. XD

Date: 2007-03-11 11:46 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bludger1985.livejournal.com
Well...theres just no way that I can be seen waving that rod around the house given how comic all the ads/promos looked :P (its kind of cool, but the games they make on it!!! Well at least I heard FF franchise is going to Wii)

Date: 2007-03-12 05:19 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jezjezjezza.livejournal.com
heh, yeah I dunno about the range of games it has (which is why I don't have one XD.. well, that, and the fact that I'm poor :D!)..

Date: 2007-03-11 03:10 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] luna-rainbow.livejournal.com
You should read that comic =P I think you'll get more jokes than me. It's much better than Mega Tokyo IMO...takes itself much less seriously.

Date: 2007-03-11 11:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bludger1985.livejournal.com
Yeah I read quite a bit of it after, pretty entertaining stuff. "Ship simulator 2006?!?!?!" LOL, awwwww reminds me of some good old memories...thats why guys cant pick pressies for girls! *hint hint* ;)

Gotta love the PS3 bash going on. (Youtube isnt so kind to SONY either lol)

Profile

mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
mayoraasei

December 2018

M T W T F S S
     12
3456 789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated 25 Mar 2026 11:07 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios