Have just spent an hour and a half sitting through the atrocity that is the second movie of Mulan.
It has efficiently renewed my hatred of the Hollywood ideal of "abandon all duty to follow your heart". (Or maybe I've been overdosing on it from crappy shoujo anime.)
I hate the Disney interpretation of Mulan's character and bastardisation of Chinese values. In my mind she has never been someone who shirked duty. She joined the army because of her filial duty to her ailing father. It was duty that made her assume a man's attire, not rebelliousness.
And the remarkable naivete with which responsibility is portrayed is doing marvels at telling children what constitutes a mature human being. Arranged marriages for the princesses? Oh no! Even if it's an entire empire's fate on the line, they should choose with their heart.
It annoys me how little the characters care for their oaths and their responsibilities. It annoys me even more when this irresponsibility is contagious. There is nothing more despicable in traditional Chinese society than a man (or a woman) who does not honour his or her word.
........And at the risk of quoting myself....
People's hearts change. Duty is book-bound and stubborn.
To a society where hierarchy rules above all, a dutiful liege is far more desirable than an untamed horse.
PS: There's something creepy about watching Mulan with Chinese subtitles and English voices...
PPS: I also dislike how Mushu is now incredibly snitchy. To take the word from Ziva.
PPPS: Because Crickee is just too adorable *squee* (Unfortunately it was hard to fix up the compressed colour very well *sigh*)

It has efficiently renewed my hatred of the Hollywood ideal of "abandon all duty to follow your heart". (Or maybe I've been overdosing on it from crappy shoujo anime.)
I hate the Disney interpretation of Mulan's character and bastardisation of Chinese values. In my mind she has never been someone who shirked duty. She joined the army because of her filial duty to her ailing father. It was duty that made her assume a man's attire, not rebelliousness.
And the remarkable naivete with which responsibility is portrayed is doing marvels at telling children what constitutes a mature human being. Arranged marriages for the princesses? Oh no! Even if it's an entire empire's fate on the line, they should choose with their heart.
It annoys me how little the characters care for their oaths and their responsibilities. It annoys me even more when this irresponsibility is contagious. There is nothing more despicable in traditional Chinese society than a man (or a woman) who does not honour his or her word.
........And at the risk of quoting myself....
People's hearts change. Duty is book-bound and stubborn.
To a society where hierarchy rules above all, a dutiful liege is far more desirable than an untamed horse.
PS: There's something creepy about watching Mulan with Chinese subtitles and English voices...
PPS: I also dislike how Mushu is now incredibly snitchy. To take the word from Ziva.
PPPS: Because Crickee is just too adorable *squee* (Unfortunately it was hard to fix up the compressed colour very well *sigh*)

no subject
Date: 2007-02-07 09:52 am (UTC)yeah, to me, hollywood ideals seem so.. selfish ^_^
no subject
Date: 2007-02-07 10:42 am (UTC)And then I got so terrified of Nox that I levelled up too much >__> His resistance to potions is really annoying but he doesn't hit hard.
Oh yeah, some day you have to teach me how to buy in the stock market ^^;
no subject
Date: 2007-02-07 10:12 pm (UTC)yay! ok, here's the gist of what you need to do:
(only two steps, buying and selling)
1. check this page each day:
http://www.neopets.com/stockmarket.phtml?type=list&bargain=true
buy 1000 shares of any stock that is trading at 15np per share (so you spend 15K each day. that's the minimum you need to pay, and it's best to have as many shares as you can to maximise your profits)
if there are no stocks trading at 15, try buying at 16, etc. or try waiting a while (prices change each half hour) to see if anything's price drops to 15
if there is more than one stock that is trading at 15, check how many shares you own of each. buy whatever you have the least of (for risk management reasons), and if you have an equal number of shares of each, buy the unpopular one (the one that less people are buying (the 'volume' column tells you how many shares were bought of that stock during the day). buying the unpopular one is good for a reason which takes ages to type out, so I won't mention it here)
2. check your portfolio every now and then and sell any stock which reaches 75np or higher (I say 75np, because I suspect you have a couple of million to spare, so you can afford to. if you are poor (0 - 1000 np only, like.. people who start the game etc)), you should try selling at 45 or 60, for faster (but smaller) profits. it's always good to sell higher, in the long run (don't listen to the newbies on the stock boards who try to 'prove' otherwise; once you buy 1000 shares, you will make a profit of (S-B)*1000 each time you sell, regardless of how fast you sell it. in the long run, it's better to sell as high as possible, since the stocks don't remember how fast you profited from them)
your portfolio is here:
http://www.neopets.com/stockmarket.phtml?type=portfolio
to sell, click the small triangle next to the name of the stock you want to sell, and type in how much you want to sell, then click the ok button at the bottom of the page
..hmm, that's rather long.. here's a summary with no unnecessary explanations:
1. buy the cheapest stocks you can find each day (choose the ones you have the least of. if you have equal amounts, favour the ones less people buy)
2. sell as high as you can
...that's it. the neopian stockmarket is way too simple to be interesting.. but it's profitable :D
no subject
Date: 2007-02-08 01:59 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2007-02-08 09:16 am (UTC):D really, don't worry about bankruptcy; the neopian stockmarket is not like the real one.. I've made about 12 million from stocks, starting from my initial 200K, so even if I suddenly lose 4 million or so (it'd be more like 500K max though), I'd have made about 8 million in the long run.
no subject
Date: 2007-02-07 12:54 pm (UTC)Trivia: note out the cricket only has four legs but crickets in reality have six! >_>