death note, the movie
13 Dec 2006 12:58 amThe crowd stands horrified as the large TV screen broadcasts live a siege. Amongst the watching crowd, a boy lifts a GIGANTIC BLACK NOTE BOOK inscribed in large white letters DEATH NOTE and...
...I knew this was going to be a very long two hours.
The live action movie covers Raito's receiving the notebook to Misa receiving hers.
It is also best watched if one has not read the manga in a very, very, long time, and has also committed everything that has happened originally to the land of non-existence.
Oh, and it's a baaaaaaad idea to have watched the anime recently.
The appeal about Death Note is the incredible way Raito and L's minds work. The caution, the clues, the things we as readers have to think a long time about but which they jump swiftly to.
And so, someone please keelhaul the director for letting Raito leave his Death Note ON TOP OF HIS BOOKS ON HIS DESK UNCOVERED AND SAYING DEATH NOTE.
The movie attempts to make Raito more human than the manga BUT THAT DEFEATS THE WHOLE CONSTITUTION of his character. What is Raito without that arrogant justice, that childish pride, that complete apathy about human lives, his belief in himself as GOD?
And I'm sorry, Fujiwara fans, but he just doesn't have the presence, the invincible arrogance, the absolute mastery of himself, that Raito must.
I'm also incredibly pissed off that they made Misora Naomi a thousand times more the idiot. She was the only one! The only one who held Raito's life in her hands! Who almost almost finished him! And it was only a stroke of luck on Raito's part and a miscalculation on hers that saved Raito! The suspense of Raito trying to get her name will never be measured up to by.....whatever that crap in the movie was about.
And wtf is the girlfriend doing there?
The twist at the very end had almost enough cleverness to save it....
But by then I had said "WTF?!" too many times to care.
...I knew this was going to be a very long two hours.
The live action movie covers Raito's receiving the notebook to Misa receiving hers.
It is also best watched if one has not read the manga in a very, very, long time, and has also committed everything that has happened originally to the land of non-existence.
Oh, and it's a baaaaaaad idea to have watched the anime recently.
The appeal about Death Note is the incredible way Raito and L's minds work. The caution, the clues, the things we as readers have to think a long time about but which they jump swiftly to.
And so, someone please keelhaul the director for letting Raito leave his Death Note ON TOP OF HIS BOOKS ON HIS DESK UNCOVERED AND SAYING DEATH NOTE.
The movie attempts to make Raito more human than the manga BUT THAT DEFEATS THE WHOLE CONSTITUTION of his character. What is Raito without that arrogant justice, that childish pride, that complete apathy about human lives, his belief in himself as GOD?
And I'm sorry, Fujiwara fans, but he just doesn't have the presence, the invincible arrogance, the absolute mastery of himself, that Raito must.
I'm also incredibly pissed off that they made Misora Naomi a thousand times more the idiot. She was the only one! The only one who held Raito's life in her hands! Who almost almost finished him! And it was only a stroke of luck on Raito's part and a miscalculation on hers that saved Raito! The suspense of Raito trying to get her name will never be measured up to by.....whatever that crap in the movie was about.
And wtf is the girlfriend doing there?
The twist at the very end had almost enough cleverness to save it....
But by then I had said "WTF?!" too many times to care.
no subject
Date: 2006-12-15 04:17 am (UTC)In a away the thoughtful scheming and duel of thoughts are difficult to transfer into a movie because the audience do not have the time to think. Therefore I understand why they would want to dumb it down a little. But yes...DN lying there on Table is just stupid -.- Although Raito does lock his doors 24/7
Naomi had NO composure in the movie, as if walk up to your suspect and tell him of your suspicions. (After Raito knew of her then there really wanst much she could do...since she was basically under his control)
In the movie, although Raito wasnt inhumane, he was prepared to throw whatever morality he had to persue his vision of becoming Kira (and in a way god). So in a sense his character wasnt fully detached to that of the manga. (Even in manga, Raito was reluctant to place his family/dad in danger.)
Which girlfriend are you talking about? Raito's? didnt really get what you meant
no subject
Date: 2006-12-15 06:21 am (UTC)I didn't say that Raito was completely different to that of the manga, but he's missing what motivated him to become Kira. He doesn't have that obsessive sense of justice and self-belief, or that passion or enthusiasm for judgement. He just seemed too human, and it was all those lack of human empathy that made Raito's transformation believable. It was because he was "inhuman" that he saw things different to others, that he could actually believe what he was doing as right.
Yeah I reckon, totally wasted Naomi's character v__v She had so much brains in the original.
no subject
Date: 2006-12-15 01:19 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-12-15 08:34 pm (UTC)Fujiwara I still love XD Guess it may partly be because I liked him in other dramas and musicals~ 我一直都很先入为主的*墨镜*
And the fact he reminds me so much of Ohno....the boy can really do no wrong in my book XDDDDD
I dunno....Raito in the movie actually made me WANT him to win = =+ But that may be because I really didn't like L in there = =+ Had this overwelming urge to drown him in his coffee|||||
Although I don't think making the viewer side with Kira was the maker's aim OTZ