28 Mar 2016

mayoraasei: (Jdrama)
My entries are getting longer and longer...in between.

The endless cycle of sleep-eat-work-eat-sleep doesn't leave much space for introspection on the 2 days of the week you have leave from it.

I've actually been watching a lot of random stuff since coming to Sydney, and this Easter break has been a bit of an unintentional marathon. Some of them I haven't finished yet, but it would be so long until my next entry, that I should at least make the effort.

SPECIALIST
As a continuation of 4 drama SPs over the last couple of years that rated pretty well each time, it managed to be the top rating drama of the season (not including the long-running shows). Even so, the decline in drama ratings over the last few years have been unrestrainable, with most dramas these days struggling to break even 10%, and even the top rating ones of the season seldom pass 15%.

Is it good? It's not bad. The plot holes are less obvious than some of the other stuff that goes on in Japanese crime thrillers, and the mystery is usually interesting enough to keep you engaged for the 45 minutes run time. But the characters are pretty bland, and the overarching conspiracy was - rather typically of Japanese crime dramas - a letdown. The ending is open, possibly paving the way for sequels later on.

Verdict: a good police procedural, but don't get too attached to the big conspiracy.

Kaitou Tantei Yamaneko
It's been a long time since I could bring myself to watch another one of Kame's dramas, and I'm pleased to say that his acting has improved greatly. Yamaneko is sufficiently brash and burlesque for Kame's public persona not to overwhelm the character.

Yamaneko is an interesting character - sort of like Detective Conan bred with Gintama. Japanese literature (if you count manga/anime amongst "literature") does these sort of characters very well - from Kenshin to Gintoki, the carefree and careless main character who carries a dark and bloody past. He's a "good thief" who steals from the corrupt rich, but previously trained as a spy at the order of a mysterious entity called "Yuuki Tenmei" who came into power during WW2 but still exerts a stronghold on Japanese politics. Somehow, Yamaneko had a fallout with Yuuki Tenmei, and while completing his "side quests of the week", his main mission is to find Yuuki Tenmei and the answer to his existence.

Unfortunately, rather typically of a show of this enormity - e.g. Ouroboros, SPEC - the ending dissolves into ludicrousness. One of the twists was seen a long way coming due to an unfortunate casting. And like many Japanese shows of this calibre, the show is peppered with odd morality lectures and the ending is immensely confusing as to what it wants to say about the world.

Verdict: an excellent effort by all core actors, let down by a disappointing script.


Matsumoto Seicho adaptations
Matsumoto Seicho was one of the great authors of modern Japanese crime literature. Every year, there are multiple adaptations of his works released as drama SP, drama series or movies.

I watched a few of them: "The black forest", "The woman who bought the local paper", "The castle of sand", "The flag of mist". They're slickly produced SPs (well okay, most Japanese drama SPs are quite well done and often better than the series...) which are all well-acted and very atmospheric.

The female characters are...interesting, and really rather pitiable. Apart from "The Black Forest" which quite easily translated to a contemporary setting, the others...I want to say that they're dated, but they're not, because in Japan (and probably many other parts of the world) women are still subject to the same sort of inequity that's put on display there.

For example, the extremely capable and shrewd reporter in "Castle of Sand", who provided multiple clues and ideas to the police investigation, gets transferred away from investigative journalism because she's a woman and should be writing about things like...girly things.

Or the rather tragic female main characters in "The woman who bought the local paper" and "The flag of mist". The first story was extraordinarily...claustrophobic. Here is a woman who was being extorted and raped, who wanted to keep her marriage together, and murdered the two perpetrators because they threatened to continue their abuse. In the end, to protect her husband's reputation, she divorced him before turning herself into police. She had intended to kill herself but one of the other characters stopped her, saying - "the man's (the rapist) children won't get any of his life insurance if you die, because it would be counted as suicide. I hope you can turn yourself in, so that the children know the truth, and they can continue to love their father."

I don't know why I reacted so badly to that. I felt she had already been through so much, and while murder can't be justified, there's certainly extenuating circumstances. I don't feel the man deserved any sympathy and he certainly wasn't portrayed as a good father - he had multiple women and was rarely home to see his wife and children, and on top of that he extorted this poor woman for money and raped her multiple times. I felt she had already paid so much for another undeserving man in her life - the husband, for whom she had an abortion as he demanded it of her, and the botched operation made her infertile. For whom, even when her own honour and security was at stake, she still cut ties with him so that he could be protected. In a way she was a 白蓮花, but she also wasn't, because she became strong enough to take matters into her own hands and kill the perpetrators. I don't think people should commit suicide to avoid facing retributions, but I was very annoyed that the above speech could change her mind - why should she have sympathy for these children, when their dad is such a low life and when she couldn't have children?

Less tragically, in "Flag of Mist", it was about a girl's revenge against a lawyer who declined to be the defense lawyer for her wrongly accused brother. I felt a lot of her hate was misplaced, but yet tragically understandable.

What ties these stories together is that a lot of these women - these women who try to get their way, are not your usual "good girl". They become hostesses, they sell their bodies, and when asked, they sigh and say, "We have to live, somehow".

These days things are getting better for women, but his stories are an oddly painful reminder of how stifling Japanese society can be on the role of women.

zootopia

28 Mar 2016 04:13 pm
mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
This little dark horse turned out a lot better than I thought.

I have to reiterate that I'm not a huge fan of Disney or Pixar movies. I can't remember the last Disney movie I adored...maybe it was Up!.

Zootopia is one of those rare Disney movies that's full of subtext - that's not about family. I've seen complaints about its simple plot, but really I think the movie has two layers - the plot is for the kids (and to be frank, is probably better than some of the detective crap I've seen coming out of J-dramas), but the underlying message, well that's for the kids too, but it's far easier for the adults to pick up and ruminate on.

You haven't watched the movie if you've only watched it for the plot. I think you would be an extremely fortunate person not to have some experience - first hand or otherwise - of the prejudice that Zootopia unearths. Interspecies tension as an allegory for race, but I think it's more than race - I think it's prejudice of all kinds, against race, gender, ethnicity, culture, skin colour, caste, geography, class, bloodline. You name it - humans have had thousands of years to perfect the ways in which "we" judge "them".

I think there is a danger of reading too much into it (there is a conspiracy to undermine those who are genetically gifted), so it's best to take the movie as a social reflection rather than a commentary.

What I really like about the story is that it's a twist on the traditional "follow your dreams" Hollywood message. Does Judy and Nick attain their dreams in their end? Of course they do. But the difference is getting to the dream is only half the work - Judy is disadvantaged by her physique, so she has to work 50 times as hard as the next hippo to get there, and stay there. Getting to your dream is not hard, but living it is. She has to put up with the contempt and distrust of her superiors. She has to live with the constant nagging from her parents to quit her job. She has to be 50 times stronger psychologically to stick her head down and keep going.

And it's nice how it showed even a well-meaning "truth" can hide deep-seated prejudices. Judy's truthful comment about predators and their DNA is deeply hurtful for Nick. I'm not saying this is a story advocating for political correctness. Rather, it's a story reflecting just how subtle yet deeply ingrained prejudices can be, and just how easily society drives certain people down a path that they didn't necessarily want to take.

A funny and imaginative movie for the kids, and hopefully a thought-provoking reflection for adults.

Profile

mayoraasei: There is no such thing as coincidence (Default)
mayoraasei

December 2018

M T W T F S S
     12
3456 789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated 28 Mar 2026 07:59 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios